Yoga with Awareness


This class is taught by:

Jean Stafford

Fifteen years ago I signed up for my first ‘sweaty’ Ashtanga class in Covent Garden. Our teacher was also a talented dancer in the musical ‘Cats’ and he was a wonderful character. I found him inspiring and soon reaped the rewards of including asana practices in my life.

Nowadays, although I still enjoy Ashtanga I am inspired by Vinyasa Flow, which I am qualified to teach. I also love attending a variety of weekly asana classes, to keep my own practice fresh and exciting – whether it is a beginner, or advanced class. It never ceases to amaze me how each teacher offers their own unique teaching style!

Each class I teach uses dynamic and static postures to gently stretch and strengthen the body, and expand the mind. I encourage my students to trust in their bodies and break down more demanding asanas, using their breath as a guide. If the breath feels uncomfortable, we can pull back from a posture.

I like to create a light atmosphere in class so that all students feel welcome, whatever their experience level. Modifications are available so that everyone can explore the postures.

At the end of class we enjoy a well-deserved relaxation allowing students to soak up the benefits of their practice. Our intention is to leave our practice feeling positive about ourselves, fully restored with increased vitality and energy.


Upcoming classes:

  • Sat 15 Dec 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 22 Dec 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 29 Dec 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 05 Jan 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 12 Jan 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 19 Jan 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 26 Jan 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 02 Feb 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 09 Feb 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 16 Feb 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 23 Feb 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 02 Mar 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 09 Mar 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 16 Mar 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 23 Mar 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 30 Mar 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford
  • Sat 06 Apr 9:00 am - 10:30 am with Jean Stafford